“When you reach the end of your rope, tie a knot in it and hang on.” -Franklin D. Roosevelt

I had the best day yesterday.

In the morning, I snoozed maybe 20 times, then I was confused about my vibrating no-ringtone-phone, realized I was getting a call, picked up the call from C, who told me that he was going to come and pick me up soon, so I should get ready. I got up, realizing that there might be a new The Mindy Project episode on, but when I checked Hulu Plus, it wasn’t there. Disappointment. ‘Oh well, at least I’m up and not still lying down.’ I got another call from C saying that he would be going to Dunkin Donuts – he asked me what I wanted, and I was so incredibly happy. The possibilities seemed endless. But I asked for an everything bagel toasted with cream cheese, which I always get from Dunkin Donuts, and a Coffee Coolatta, pretty, pretty please? I smiled and crinkled my eyes up even though he couldn’t see me, obviously. C said of course, which always really surprises me, because I was never allowed to buy drinks when I was little. My aunt or my parents, whoever was taking care of me, always told me to wait until I got home to drink water. Blegh. I know, I’m not little anymore, but buying a drink still seems like a delicacy. My dad’s words tend to form a cloud over me whenever I’m about to buy a drink. ‘That can of Coke is actually worth around 19 cents, and you’re about to pay $2.00. Think of the markup, are you crazy?’ …Yeah.

Anyway, I got up, excited for our little adventure of the day. It’s really fun getting ready for the day. I imagine it’s not as fun when you’re a boy… but when am I a boy? Anyway. I wore:

  • my lilac tank top and my white long sleeved shirt both from J. Crew
  • a blue denim vest from TJ Maxx
  • fleece lined tights from Urban Outfitters
  • leggings on top of that from Target, my argyle blue and white socks (probably under my tights actually – a little weird, but it was 9 degrees out today, so whatever.)
  • Then I put on my fake diamond studs
  • a half moon necklace from a little art boutique in Vermont (from my Vermont trip with C and his “family”)
  • a new red headband that I got from Stella Arbor Boutique (I love Evelina – she is such a lovely person.) with a gigantic red carnation on it (I love it so much, but when I got home later, my dad asked why I was wearing a red flower on my head, and I shrugged, and he said, “Because you think it looks good..?” Um. Rude. Honestly, I don’t think my dad meant to be rude and insulting. My dad is kind of awkward. …Kind of. Okay, I’m going to choose to believe that this flower headband that I love is really cool and stylish and fabulous.
  • I wore my Citizen watch that I got on the cruise ship I went on with my mom and dad this past summer to Bermuda
  • and my new black ankle booties from Naturalizer (so comfy for a heeled boot)
  • I also wore my dad’s gigantic gloves. They were really warm.
  • I also forgot my earmuffs. And my hat blue-green hat from American Eagle with the pom pom. Damn it. It was so freaking cold.
  • I also brought my big brown sunglasses from Armani Exchange for C, because he needed them for driving. With his dark blue plaid scarf, he really looked like an old Hollywood movie star. Very fabulous.

As we were driving, C told me about the time he and his old roommate, T, tried to get to Brandeis once to visit Y, but they accidentally ended up on the highway twice and had no idea where they were…and it was dark out. C gave T his phone to look for directions, and T just froze and pretty much refused to do anything for some reason. Two math majors in one car can’t figure out directions…. HA! C said that I was a much better navigator 0;) Well, also, C printed out very detailed directions from MapQuest, and it ended up being pretty easy to get to, so… we’ll be visiting Y more often than not in the future (if it ever gets warm again… the future seems grim.)

When we got to Y’s apartment area (all of the apartments looks the same: brick, house-shaped… it’s really pretty creepy.), we parked and cleared out the back of the Jersey car. We desperately tried to clear out the dust, and cassettes, and just general crap from the backseat. “Just hide all of the crap under the rubber mats of the car.” …”That’s why we’re meant to be together,” C told me. That made me smile. We used the brush of the ice-scraper contraption to bang the dust out of the little buttons in the seat (the seat is shaped like a cushion…There are little indents that look like the buttons of a cardigan). I banged the hell out of that backseat. The Jersey car is very embarrassing and hilarious at the same time. After we picked up Y and his girlfriend P, we made a lot of three point turns to try and find Bertucci’s. It turns out Winter Street is over here, but then it is also way over there, and then a part of Winter Street is also three blocks away. Honestly, what in the hell. When we were making one of the three point turns, a guy in a Staples truck was perpendicular to us trying to get out of the parking lot we were backing out of was laughing at us. I was laughing at us too.

I tried testing out this whole not-hiding-my-emotions thing when we hung out with Y and P yesterday. It was really awkward when they got into the car, because, well, we were in the Jersey car, and I didn’t know either of them very well. Y was wearing a ski mask, and it reminded me of the time that C got my dad a ski mask for Christmas, and my dad put it on in the mirror and giggled to himself like a little boy…. and I think he’s hidden it in the back of his closet, because I never ever see him wear it. I didn’t know if I should tell everyone in the car this, and then I recognized that to change and be more open about my emotions, I absolutely had to. And I did! And they laughed! And it was victorious. 😉

During lunch at Bertucci’s, C and Y kept talking about math, and this was very boring. Very boring. Homomorphisms and constructing the reals. No, thank you, I’m okay. C saw my eyes glazing over and he kind of laughed and waved his hand in front of my face, so I said, “You guys make me feel like I’m watching a real-life version of The Big Bang Theory.” Everyone laughed at that, and then Y said he didn’t watch BBT (sounds dirty, but it’s not), and then we laughed some more. Then more math talk. I caught P kind of rolling her eyes and smiling, so I took the dessert menu in the middle of the table and started talking about what I know best: Chocolate. I told her about Max Brenner’s: ice cream, cake, cookies, melted chocolate, solid chocolate, milk chocolate, FRIED DOUGH (her eyes lit up at the mention of fried dough). ‘Wow,” I thought, ‘I can …CHANGE THE CONVERSATION?!’ I really am so silly sometimes.

I ordered the Rigatoni Abruzzi, and it was really good. Then I ordered a Tiramisu to share with P, and then Y wanted Tiramisu, but he was busy talking to C when we ordered, so we ordered another slice. Then Y asked P if she would mind that he was sick, and it was really honest and sweet, and now I love them together. C tasted a bit of it even though he felt apprehensive that the Tiramisu might taste like flan (which he hates), and he made a face, so I said, “Yay, more for me!” C also ordered me a ginger ale (,which was so sweet!!!) when I was in the bathroom before lunch washing my hands and giving myself a pep talk. C ordered the Fettucini Alfredo, of course, P ordered the Four Cheese Ravioli, and Y ordered Spaghetti and Meatballs – and it came with some sliced Parmesan on it, and Y said that he hated cheese “because of what it is.” P repeatedly said that she had been trying to get Y to try all sorts of cheeses, and if he could just find a cheese that he loved, maybe he could be converted. Then C told Y what Blue Cheese is. Y was terrified to say the least. Hmm, I didn’t finish my pasta or my Tiramisu, because I loaded up on Bertucci’s rolls and salad…I wonder if C kept my leftovers safe. I left them in his car by accident!!! I’m coming for them, C. Just saying…THEY BETTER BE IN YOUR FRIDGE.

ImageImage

We went back to Y’s apartment, and his roommate from Mexico has such a massive lego collection that he has boxes stacked up to the ceiling filled with boxes, each with a label that says something like “1×1 red pieces.” Oh my GOD. It really satisfied my OCD-ness for the day…somehow. Vicariously, I guess. He also has these amazing models of houses, and his houses have floors, and the floors have rooms, and each room is DETAILED and THEMED. Amazing. Then we watched Youtube videos of Honest Trailers, videos from the Cringe page of Reddit (funny ones include 1) the rap battle between two kids, and one of the boys breathes into the lens and fogs it up, 2) music video of Fun made by a very bored boy, who shoots up into the sky after cloning himself), a cover of “Baby” by Justin Bieber and “Hit Me” by I-don’t-know-who by this crazy-amazing band that C has shown me 5+ times now (I wonder if he remembers). Then I saw a white DS on the table and asked P if it was hers, and it was! She seemed kind of embarrassed to admit that she only played Pokemon, and I was like ME TOO!!!!!! And then she said she was playing Heart Gold and I had no idea what that was, so she opened it up and showed it to me. Pokemon is so pretty on the DS. So much better than on the original Gameboy. Seriously. So fun. And soooo addicting.

Then, me and C decided to go, and Y hugged C like he was holding onto C for his dear life. I asked P when she was going back, and she said she was going to MALAYSIA! And it made me so excited, because I went to Malaysia when I was 11, and it was so fun. I told her to ride an elephant, or get picked up by one by the trunk (even though I definitely would not have done that – no way.) Then I told Y that we’d be coming to see him much more often and C agreed, and I told P to let us know when she is in town, and she said okay.

I was so happy to make a new friend today, and I remembered Shay Carl telling his audience that if you greet people like dogs greet people, people will like you… Very strange, but very true… So now I know that if I stop overanalyzing every little thing that pops into my mind, I won’t say anything, hence silence, hence awkwardness, hence new-friendlessness. Pro tip of the day.

Leave a comment