“Change your thoughts, change your life.” -Lao Tzu

Today was a semi – normal day. I failed on sleeping at a reasonable time last night…, because I was so caught up on writing my last blog post. I just felt like it was such a good day, and if I didn’t write all of the details I wanted to keep forever down, I would lose them forever.

I didn’t have any adventures planned for today. I feel bored on these days, but I don’t want to! When I’m bored, I feel compelled to buy things for that instant gratification – I’m really trying to change this. I don’t want a house full of stuff one day – the more things you have, the more potential problems you have… the more baggage you have. In my sophomore year of college, when my roommate moved in, she asked me where all of my stuff was. I didn’t have ornate decorations, or cardboard glitter decorations that read “Peace” like she did. She had peace signs all over her wall in the shape of a heart, and she even brought in a bookshelf. She struggles with migraines and depression, and she’s kind of pedantic, but she was always nice to me. I honestly kind of found her annoying though – she talked a lot about how she is such an honest person and how honest people should be rewarded for that… yet I caught her shoplifting once. Awkward. And when I wouldn’t see her for a while, she would blame me when she hadn’t reached out herself… And she also says things like, “That’s what friends are for.” I’m pretty sure that real friends don’t say that to each other.

One thing that I’ve really struggled with and that I’m in the process of conquering is saying how I feel. In college, there are many opportunities to protect other people’s feelings while putting yourself in a rough spot. When my roommates would do something annoying and disrespectful, it was incredibly hard for me to be upfront about it, and instead of saying it to their face, I would spend hours complaining to other people when I should have just been honest. It would have saved me a lot of time and a lot of energy (bad energy) too. It’s not fun feeling negatively toward people, who don’t know that they’re annoying you.

I am going to go to bed now even though I originally planned to talk more about my day. It’s 8:07PM, and I’m going to go and get ready for bed! Proud? 🙂 I’ll just leave two pictures of things I got from Barnes & Noble this afternoon: Demi Lovato’s book (I got it from the library too, so I now have two copies of the book, but I love it so much that I just had to get it) and the issue of Teen Vogue with Ariana Grande on the front.

Image

Image

Bis Morgen! Tschüss! :*

Leave a comment