“Love is louder than the pressure to be perfect.” -Demi Lovato

Tonight, I caught up with a bunch of old friends, and it felt really, really good to know that I have people who care about me even though we haven’t seen each other in a long time. I’ve got to remember to keep in contact with people and not revert to an anti-social place that I’m usually in… I talked to a friend who goes to NYU named N, and she offered me a place to live for spring break if I decided to come visit, and I think I might just take her up on her offer! I guess I’ve really got to buckle down and work hard on my term papers so that I actually have time to go and visit her and not make the break all about finishing my papers… Yikes! 

I also skyped with my friend, who’s studying abroad in Sweden this semester. I always feel a little bit awkward talking to her, and I always feel like there’s something she’s possibly not telling me. She reminds me of a little puppy – her feelings are hurt pretty easily, and she always seems a little bit sad, but it was really nice to talk to her. Then, I talked to C’s friend Y’s girlfriend, P, and she told me about her trip to Malaysia. I made plans with M from high school to hang out this weekend in Harvard Square, and I made plans with R to skype soon. I also called T after she got off of work at the library to talk as she walked back to her house. 

I’ve always had a lot of anxiety when it comes to talking to people… I don’t know why I get so anxious. I just feel like I’m always going to say the wrong thing, and I always feel like everyone is better than me… I’m trying to overcome that and to just realize that I’m not perfect, and I’m okay the way that I am. I’m trying to love myself more and more every day!

I told her what my friend T told me on skype – that the girl who was subletting the place in place of T threatened T with going to the residential offices and reporting her because of their heating situation in the house even though the landlord did everything he was contractually obligated to do. This girl is from somewhere extremely warm, and she insists on having the house 70+ degrees at all times, so the heating bill went from $70/person/month to $230!!!! Really annoying. So glad that I didn’t have to live with that many people this year and that I’m just living at home…

Leave a comment